Who is Required to Register as a Sex Offender in Arizona?

Who is Required to Register as a Sex Offender in Arizona?

A consequence of being convicted of a sex crime is the requirement to register on the state’s sex offender registry. Becoming a registered sex offender affects nearly every aspect of a person’s life, from where they can live to what jobs they can secure and which educational opportunities they can pursue. Here is what you need to know about registration in Arizona.

Arizona Sex Offender Registration and Notification

The sex offender registry of Arizona is a comprehensive database of everyone convicted of a sex crime. This includes those living, working, or studying in the state. The state’s registration requirements are outlined in Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) 13-3821. Sex offender registration is required if the individual has been convicted of any of the following:
  • Unlawful imprisonment of a minor
  • Kidnapping of a minor by a non-parent
  • Sexual abuse or continuous abuse of a minor
  • Sexual conduct with a minor
  • Sexual assault of a minor or spouse
  • Child molestation
  • Child prostitution or taking a child for the purpose of prostitution
  • Sexual exploitation of a minor
  • Luring a minor for sex
  • Unlawful representation of age for the purpose of sexual offense
  • Child pornography
  • Sex trafficking of a minor
  • Indecent exposure or public sexual indecency to a minor
  • Sexual extortion of a child
  • Failure to meet registration requirements

Offenders are required to register in person within 10 days of the initial conviction and re-register every year that follows. Those convicted of a sex crime in another state must register in Arizona even if the former state did not require it.

Levels of Risk

In Arizona, there are three different risk levels assigned to registered sex offenders:
  • Level 1 includes those who have the lowest risk of reoffending. Those in this level are not required to go through the process of community notification. They may not even be listed on the online database. An example of a Level 1 offense is streaking in public.
  • Level 2 is for sex offenders with a moderate risk of committing another sex crime. Those classified as Level 2 must be listed on the online database and are subject to community notification. Sex crimes of this risk level include sexual abuse and assault, child molestation, and public indecency with a minor.
  • Level 3 offenders are found to have the highest risk of reoffending and often indicate a sexual predator. Their personal information is included in a database that can be accessed by the public. The community will also receive a notification when they move in. Human trafficking and the kidnapping of a minor are considered Level 3 offenses.

To determine the risk level, sex offenders must go through an assessment screening. The screening takes 19 different factors into consideration to produce an overall score that corresponds to the likelihood of reoffense. Some factors include the total number of victims involved in the crime, the presence of drugs or alcohol, and the defendant’s IQ.

Failure to Register as a Sex Offender

Failing to register as a sex offender in Arizona is considered a class 4 felony. Sentencing for a class 4 felony can range from one to four years for first-time offenders. Those with multiple prior felony convictions face up to 15 years of prison time.

Criminal Defense Attorney in Tucson

Whether you are facing charges for a sex crime or another criminal matter, the DUI Defense Team is here to help you with your case. Our experienced attorneys will fight for you and your rights.

If you’ve been falsely accused of a sex crime, contact the DUI Defense Team today for a free consultation.
2929 E. Broadway Blvd.
Tucson, AZ. 85716
GET STARTED