Three or More DUI's

in Arizona
Getting Three Or More DUI’s In Arizona
Getting one DUI charge on your record is bad enough, you could face fines, mandatory classes, license restrictions, and even possible jail time. However, if you happen to get three or more DUI’s the consequences you face could be way more serious. Unlike a first or second DUI charge, in Arizona, courts can not reduce a third DUI to a wet reckless charge under a plea bargain. A wet reckless is the first of several reductions of a DUI charge, usually when the person's blood alcohol content (BAC) is close to 0.08%. This charge is technically a reckless driving charge. The term ‘wet’ refers to the idea that drugs or alcohol were involved in the incident.

Third Offense DUI

A third DUI offense in a seven-year time period is charged as a first offense felony, or an aggravated DUI, which holds serious penalties:

Jail Time - Minimum of 4 months jail sentence, up to a maximum of 2 years Fines - A minimum base fine of $750 Fees - Fines and fees can range from $4,000 up to $150,000 Vehicle impoundment Revoked License - 3 years driver’s license suspension Interlock Device - Installation of an Ignition Interlock Device as soon as the driver is able to drive again Costly Insurance - Show proof of SR-22 insurance Treatment - 30-month alcohol treatment program Community Service - Minimum of 30 days Not only do you face the possibility of all of these consequences, but you could also potentially lose your job, many employers won’t hold your job while you spend time in jail, consequently making it more difficult to pay fines and fees. In addition to this, you may have even greater difficulty getting a new job. Having multiple DUI’s on your record may affect an employers decision to hire you.

What to Do When Facing DUI's

If you have been convicted with a DUI, contact a qualified DUI defense attorney today.
For a free consultation call 520-222-2222, don’t fight your charges alone.
2929 E. Broadway Blvd.
Tucson, AZ. 85716